“But I Can’t Read”

I have been teaching for eleven years now, which I think is long enough to have a deep understanding of teaching practice but not quite long enough to avoid the charming giggles of my veteran colleagues who will probably say to this, “Eleven years? You’re still a baby!”

Either way, I had a moment today that I have not yet had in those eleven years, so even though I feel like a veteran at times, the universe reminded me today that, in some areas, I’m still soberingly inexperienced.

This morning, my students and I were reading more personal narratives. Feeling like they were ready for some independence, I provided a new narrative for them to read and then subsequently write about. That’s when it happened.

One of my students, a gregarious JV football player looked at me and said, “But, Mrs. Kukral, I can’t read.”

At first, I thought he was kidding. Unfortunately, he wasn’t.

I went into problem-solving mode, trying to determine whether it was a comprehension issue or a true-to-life decoding one. As I reflect on the day, I think it’s probably a bit of both.

I wanted him to read aloud to me, but understandably, he didn’t want to do that with the other students around, so I selected a small chunk of text, and asked him to read it to himself and underline words he couldn’t figure out. Some of his selections were words like surroundings, belongings, anxieties, samurai, and ethereal.

As we worked together, I offered him some decoding tricks, and then we also tried some comprehension strategies. When he had success decoding and comprehending a chunk of text, I asked him about his thought process so that we could determine other strategies that worked. Over the course of the morning, I noticed that he was starting to use some of the processes independently. But this lively, energetic boy (who admits he got kicked out of class last year–a lot) still has a long road ahead of him, and I have very little time to make a difference.

Thinking about this turn of events for most of the morning, I started to reflect on some really relevant issues in the Common Core, and the one that surfaced most quickly for me is also one of the most controversial: Text complexity.

Of course, we know that the Common Core State Standards advocate that all students should be reading grade-level text and that our kids need to be able march up a perfect little staircase of complexity as they advance through the grades.

Teachers of reading know this isn’t quite so neat and tidy. On the other hand, if students are going to be successful in the world outside our classroom walls, they are going to need to have strategies to comprehend (and decode) complex text from all different disciplines.

That’s where the teaching comes in.

Because another expectation of the Common Core is that we are all literacy teachers. This is a paradigm shift of colossal proportions–even, I would argue, for many English/Language Arts teachers. This is because while biology teachers have genetics, evolution, and ecology, English teachers have Shakespeare, Faulkner, and the persuasive essay.

I think that this needs to change.

In order for us to be able to help our students learn how to read (because this isn’t just a problem unique to elementary school, as it turns out), we need to know how to do that.

I was faced with that reality today. I had this student in front of me who vulnerably said, “I can’t do it.” And I pulled out every tool I had in my shed, including immediate formative assessments I could try in that moment in order to “diagnose” his particular issue.

  • I questioned him in order learn what his mind was doing when he read.
  • I showed him how to deconstruct words and look for word parts that he recognized.
  • I showed him how to read small chunks of text at a time and paraphrase.
  • I showed him how to use his understanding of the previous paragraph to build an understanding of the one below it.
  • I asked him what we was doing to understand the text when he finally did start to figure it out.
Most importantly, I drew on my own experience and reflections as a reader to provide the support that he needed in that moment.

Are these all the answers? No. But they’re what I felt were appropriate at the time given the circumstances. Will I continue to investigate interventions and supports that will work for this student? Absolutely. But my reality is that I have seven more days to help, and he has a very frustrating lifetime ahead of him if we can’t start to solve this problem.

So what do we do about the Common Core? We teach teachers–all teachers–how to be teachers of reading and writing, how to explicitly draw on their own experiences as readers and writers in order to understand how these complex and intricate processes work. Because at the end of the day, not all students are going to fit the straight-edged text complexity mold, and we need to know what to do about it.

We will not always recognize these students, and they will not always bravely tell us what mine did today. In fact, he shared with me that, “I misbehave in class because I don’t know how to do the work. It’s just easier that way.” This is also the student who, on the first day, asked me to do grammar worksheets instead of read and write.

Now it all makes sense.

So no, sometimes our students don’t tell us what they need–not directly anyway–but they somehow still figure out a way to let us know.

We just need to be able to hear them.

6 thoughts on ““But I Can’t Read”

  1. This was so great to read Nicole. The message you delivered from this exchange about all teachers being literacy teachers is so important. And you should feel so extremely proud that this student told you this as opposed to his usual acting out. You are amazing.

    • Thanks, Karin! I didn’t feel so amazing–just trying to figure out how to help this kid in a hurry. I do feel very fortunate that he trusted me with this information. I shared that with him too and promised he would leave my summer school class with a plan to get him started.

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Wow! I’m not sure what more to say…

    This student obviously illustrates a tough dilemma that exists within CCSS. On one hand all students need to be able to comprehend complex texts, but there are so many students who are still struggling and will need the support of all of their teachers, not just ELA. However, about as many science teachers are ready to take on that challenge as English teachers who are ready to teach protein synthesis. My official “training” on cross-curricular literacy when I first started teaching science was to sit through the Houghton-Mifflin pacing guide meetings. Needless to say, I like many other science teachers, was left with a negative taste for cross-curricular literacy ideas. We have to go beyond that and give science and history teachers literacy strategies that will work within the context of their discipline. Otherwise this type of disciplinary literacy instruction will never occur.

    I know that you are teaching an ELA Summer School class, but I am curious what types of text are you using? Narrative? Non-narrative? Could texts that support science, social science, and technical subjects fit into an instructional model like the one you are using? It might be a powerful way for an experience literacy teacher to model for content area colleagues.

    • Joe~ That was beautifully stated. Replace the “science” with “math” & you realize my fear when I get this student in my Algebra class. Right now, many ELL students (and others) excel in math while struggling to read and write. I don’t think this will be the case once Common Core ensures literacy across the disciplines. I’m looking forward to the change of focus (our standards & ways of assessing now are ridiculous) but I will need some serious strategies to support reading and writing for students who do not possess the basics.

  3. In a former life, working for a major publisher on an ELA intervention program, findings from an evaluation in Florida demonstrated that truancy was correlated with literacy. Adolescents, fearing shame, would rather act up in class, and get kicked out, than be “outed” as illiterate in front of their peers. Further, the root of their challenges were traced to phonological awareness and decoding. Of course, we want them to read and comprehend complex texts, but as you’ve shown (with much compassion), students need us to start where they are and help them pull themselves up by their bootstraps. Keep up the amazing work with these students. I admire how you’ve created the culture of trust in which your students feel comfortable sharing their struggles and, more importantly, trust you to help them move forward.

  4. Pingback: “But I Can’t Read” - A teacher's refreshing perspective | Books for Common Core | Scoop.it

Leave a Reply

